Artwork from Rihanna’s new album translated from Braille

I’m late to this news, but I only picked up the album on Thursday.  Anyway, Rihanna’s new album, Anti, features braille on the cover and at several points throughout the liner notes.  Being as how my son has special needs and I am the Persons with Disabilities Coordinator at my work, I took an immediate interest in figuring out what the album cover said.  What I found was actually pretty cool.  Three entire poems are translated from braille.

Click here for all translations

The artist’s name is Chloe Mitchell, a poet whose first book of poetry (as far as I can tell) was just released on Friday (2/26).  Apparently, she had previously received a shout out on the Kanye West song “Blame Game”, who copped the line “Lack of visual empathy equates the meaning of L-O-V-E” from one of Chloe’s early poems in 2010 (she was 22 at the time).  She did, however receive credit in the album’s liner notes.

Leave a Reply

