Introducing, Celia Chavez

I first heard Celia Chavez back in mid-November, when NoiseTrade posted several of her songs.  The one I took too, “Luv (preview mix)” is apparently a cover of a song by the band Travis.

Celia just posted a lyric video of her version today, along with a cover of another track, which she stated in an email she first heard in 2013.  I had to figure out where she had heard it and finally got to the bottom of the mystery.

She calls the track “I already know” and it sounds rough but strong in the version she posted.

In searching, I discovered the original by The Walker Brothers, a 1966 band I’ve never heard of, but their version was called “Baby, You Don’t Have to Tell Me”.

 

Celia Chavez, I very much like what you do with other people’s work and look forward to hearing new music, both original and covers in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

