Five Worst Songs of 2015

5.  Kanta’s Song-  Chris Walla

Chris Walla used to be the guitar player in Death Cab for Cutie, a band I adore.  He is also a successful indie record producer.  Given these talents, I was excited to put his new album, Tape Loops, on hold at the library.  Instead of well produced jangle-heavy guitar driven songs, I got instrumental electronica.  Why, Mr. Walla?

4.  Can’t Feel My Face-  The Weeknd

This is one of those songs that sounds like there’s a lot more to it than there really is.  What does “I can’t feel my face when I’m with you” even mean?

3.  Scream-  Kurt Cobain

Really, Brett Morgen?  You felt the world needed to hear this?  Really, Universal Records?  You felt that Brett’s idea to release this as a track on the first ever solo album by one of the most revered musicians of the 1990s was a good financial move?

2.  Anything that came out of Justin Bieber’s mouth this year

His latest single is “Sorry”, but who he should be apologizing to is the music listening public for continuing to put out teenage pop pablum, and not only that, topping the charts with it.  And there’s also the stupid stuff he says when not singing…

1.Watch Me (Whip/Nae Nae)- Silento

I’m knee-jerkingly opposed to any song that comes with a dance craze.  That includes, Boot Scoot Boogie, La Macerena, YMCA and the Moonwalk.  Just hearing that there was a new dance craze based upon pop culture tropes was enough for me to run as far as I could from this song.

Leave a Reply

