My personal experiences with music: 2015

This past year, I’m almost positive that I discovered no songs by listening to the radio.  Don’t get me wrong, I love KEXP, but most of my experience with discovering new music this year was by putting albums on hold at the library, trying some of the suggestions Noisetrade sent me, and being given suggestions by other people. http://noisetrade.com/

July saw the release of five different versions (two of them remixes) of a song written in an afternoon for fun 20 years ago.  I have several other achievements in my life, but creating art that survives 20 years later is certainly a proud moment.  Props to my friends in Bob and the Dangerous Brothers for keeping my punk nugget alive. https://bobandthedangerousbrothers.bandcamp.com/releases

In news from Pittsburgh punk, Silence, they of one of last year’s top 50 songs, signed to a punk label and will be releasing their debut album in early 2016.  Before that, though, they will be appearing live for one hour on Monday December 7 on WRCT, http://www.wrct.org/

Earlier this year, I attempted to obtain a press pass for the MXPX show where Success was the opening band.  That ultimately failed, but I intend to try again one day. https://www.facebook.com/SUCCESSPUNK/

After watching the Sleater-Kinney show, I’m proud that I wrote a more detailed review of the event than the Seattle Times.  Granted, it wasn’t major news, but I’m still wearing that as a badge of honor.

Over the next few days, I’ll be publishing my five least favorite songs, my favorite albums, and my 50 favorite songs of 2015.  It’s my favorite time of the year, distilling all that I’ve found this year into a relatively coherent list.

Leave a Reply

