I love it when two of my worlds collide

On the most recent episode of Doctor Who, the current Doctor, Peter Capaldi (whom some may remember used to play in a goth band) went to great lengths to explain the Bootstrap Paradox.  The bootstrap is an example of an exercise in predestination.  I’ve been looking for the exact speech (or even better, the actual video clip) for a couple days now, but the best I could do was to find an explanation here:

http://www.radiotimes.com/news/2015-10-10/doctor-who-what-is-the-bootstrap-paradox

The relevant quote from the website appears below:

“In brief, the Doctor proposes a brain teaser. Imagine you have a time traveler who loves Beethoven and decides to travel back and meet his hero. However on arriving, he discovers Beethoven has not and will not write any of the music the time traveller loves so much. The time traveler, desperate, decides to copy out all of his favorite tunes for Beethoven. The plan is successful. Several centuries later, a certain time traveler is listening to his favorite composer, Beethoven, and decides to go meet the man himself…

The question is: who really wrote Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony?”

Edit:  The monologue finally posted on youtube 10/13/14, albeit in 4 parts:

At the end of the monologue, the opening theme begins, but with a decidedly rock twist.

Now, in brief, an explanation: When I was first discovering music in my late single digits early teen years, The only place my family ever went where music was for sale was the local Pay Less (now a Rite Aid).  I knew many of the names of the bands they had for sale (Beach Boys, Damn Yankees, Bon Jovi, 2 Live Crew), but I thought I’d start with music that had withstood the test of time.  And so, I picked up Symphony No. 9.  I eventually filled in a lot of my knowledge regarding the other artists listed above, but in the late 80s, i knew of (in order): Surfin Safari, that they had a swear word in their name, Dead or Alive, and that they were in trouble for using dirty words in their music (though I was a little young to actually understand them).

I’m not sure I ever listened to the entirety of Symphony No. 9, but I don’t regret that that was my first foray into the world of music which was outside what my parents listened to.

Leave a Reply

