2014 Remnants: Top 5 songs

Every year, there’s a list of albums when I reach my cutoff for my year end list where I haven’t heard them yet, but I want to.  Sometimes this list grows as I read about other year end lists, but usually the list is somewhere in the neighborhood of 20-30 albums or singles.  This year, the list took several months longer to complete than I thought because the last album on the list didn’t come to the library until 7 months after I put it on hold.  I’ve already spoken about some of the songs on here, and so those I will leave alone and only post the videos again, but others I haven’t mentioned before.

And so, without further ado, my top 5 favorite songs from 2014 that I didn’t hear until after 12/10/14.

  1.  100 Unread Messages – Gruff Rhys.  

 

I put this album on hold after reading about it in Rolling Stone.  By the time I received it, I had forgotten what type of music I was even in for, but was pleasantly surprised at the talent of his writing and singing ability.  It’s a heartbreaking song about longing for a person and never hearing from them again.  This song has earned it’s place in my end of decade list, posted several months ago, and currently half complete.  It’s got a 50% chance of being one of my favorite songs of the decade 2010 through 2019, quite a feat for somebody I’d never heard of and couldn’t remember what type of music they wrote when I picked the album up from the library.

2.  Slutmouth-  Girlpool.  

Such a refreshing outing from two girls on acoustic instruments singing harmony.  This was from their EP, released at the end of 2014, but they now have a full length.  Expect to hear more about them at the end of the year.

3.  There must be more to live than this-  Queen f. Michael Jackson

 The only time Freddie Mercury and Michael Jackson teamed up, they left behind this gem, which went unheard for more than 20 years.  That is until a new compilation of Queen songs got released at the end of 2014.

4.  Marshall Law-  Katie Tempest

When I first heard about Katie Tempest, my reaction was that she was positing herself as a female Mike Skinner (formerly The Streets, they of my favorite song from 2000 through 2009). I wasn’t wrong. Katie writes tales of working class 20-something life in the UK. Put behind a rap beat, they flow wonderfully. I’m glad I was made aware of her existence and look forward to hearing more from her in the future.

5.  Quarterback- Kira Isabella

A country artist singing not only about the effects of rape, but having the perpetrator be the vaunted stereotype of the high school quarterback? I knew I had to hear this song. I’m very glad to know that country music is opening its tent to include the likes of Kira Isabella, Kasey Musgraves, Darius Rucker and now Steven Tyler. New sensations in country no longer have to have the bombast of Kid Rock to make an impact on the genre.

Leave a Reply

